Leaving Normal

Leaving Normal

Some day, going to do just that, rack my Hobie Positive Force and head out to try and catch the biggest wave known to nature. One last sunset ride, then go on home.

“It’s been a long time since I’ve seen the high planes of expectation
And I’m way past the lowlands and the deserts of failure and doubt
And the last time I passed through satisfaction
I felt like a stranger there
Now I’m leaving normal and I’m heading for who knows where”

Expectations, Satisfaction, Failure and Doubt, who doesn’t know or want satisfaction in their life, but we see more of the other. But to catch that monster wave, ride it till the end, I could have all the satisfaction I need.

“‘excuse me mister, is that seat taken,
Can I put my bag over here
You know this trip will go a whole lot smoother
If you take your hand from there
No, I’m not from around here
And my name’s not little darling’
Why is there one in every crowd
And why do I atttract them?”

I’m not Margo, but what a ride she was singing of, like the traffic, some guy wanted my place in line, I gave it to him, he was in a bigger hurry to get to nowhere than I was. My ride wasn’t meant for the road, it was meant for something he didn’t have the time to understand.

“Funny how the smell of a greyhound bus
Now smells like a fresh start to me
And now the sounds of the steelbelts on the blacktop
Is now the sounds of breaking free”

Fresh starts and breaking free, sounds like heaven to me. Summers end, the sun bathers have all gone home, the campgrounds empty, the Scrub Jays and crow’s are left picking through the garbage. Peaceful feeling as I park my car.

“But I’d trade all those cancelled tickets
For a single return fair to a station
With a loved one waiting there”

That’s the point, the need to seek my freedom, my freedom isn’t from a loved one, not to escape them, it’s to be with them, hold them; who wouldn’t trade their cancelled tickets for love; a theory never understood. At times, love appears more as waisted words and motions, but a wave is true to its word, Grace is the wave ridden, all that I understand to be honest; but save for the love I give.

“I’ve finally learned that there’s good and bad
And that a girl can do some choosing
Of that I’m glad cause this hardened face
Won’t take any more bruising”

The abuses of life, so transforming, wake up one day, feeling spent and overrun; life’s silent abusing and bruising. The clear skin hiding your scared bones, like a warriors stormy memories, how slow the hands of life’s clock.

“Yeah, and the next time I fall into another’s arms
There’s one thing of which I’ll be certain
Yeah, you can bare the weight of another, baby
Without considering it a burden”

I’m never the oceans burden, she can handle my love for her, the grand Lady of the sea, a welcoming beauty there, she always gets me home. But this time, this time, I paddle out wondering, I wonder if she knows.

“It’s been a long time since I’ve seen the high planes of expectation
And I’m way past the lowlands and the deserts of failure and doubt
And the last time I passed through satisfaction
I felt like a stranger there
Now I’m leaving normal and I’m heading for who knows where”

No high planes or lowlands of failures or doubts, expectations of belief are my certainty. I left normal when I entered the water, no longer feeling like the stranger amongst my own, if they had only taken the time, but what if I would’ve tired in my wait; guess that is why I paddled out, just took too long for them to want to understand.

“Now I’m leaving normal wherever I’m heading
I don’t care”

As the water slips beneath me, looking at the sandy shore; I just don’t care, I’m heading home.

Lyrics by The Cowboy Junkies, sang by none other than Margo Timmins. The rest is not a sign of being bereft of life, it’s the living of life, it’s……… Grace’s last ride.

This entry was posted in humanity, life and living, Love Enduring Unconditional, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

